Who We Are

Print This Page Print This Page
The co-founders of The DisOrdinary Architecture Project are Zoe Partington and Jos Boys.

Jos Boys studied architecture and has worked for many years in feminist and community-based design practices, as well as a researcher, educator, journalist and photographer. She is author of Doing Disability Differently: an alternative handbook on architecture, dis/ability and designing for everyday life” (Routledge 2014) and editor of “Disability, Space, Architecture: A Reader (Routledge 2017) which brings together the best writing on built space from disability studies with innovative ideas about inclusive design, so as to create an important new resource for built environment students, educators and design professionals. She currently teaches part-time at the Manchester School of Architecture and is Visiting Professor in Diversity and Creative Practice on the CASS Foundation Programme, London Metropolitan University.

Zoe Partington is an artist who works with viscerally powerful audio, visual and tactile representations to explore disabled people’s perceptions and experiences of space. Her practice is informed by her own experiences of sight loss that has taken her and her work on a journey as a tool for change.  Zoe also works as a consultant, auditor and creative equality trainer for the cultural sector. She is an international advisor and trainer, co-consulting, for Shape Arts London, most recently coordinating the creation of the online National Disability Arts Collection and Archive (NDACA).  She is also assisting the British Council in Brazil to develop disability arts equality frameworks for their 2016 Cultural Olympiad and with Japan in preparation for the 2020 Cultural Olympiad.

Disabled and Deaf artists who have been involved with the project include Jon Adams, Chris Ankin, Rubbena Aurangzeb-Tariq, Sue Austin, Caroline Cardus, Joolz Cave Berry, Lynn Cox, Liz Crow, David Dixon, Stephanie Fuller, Rachel Gadsden, Sabine Gruhn, Tony Heaton, Noemi Lakmaier, Mandy Legg, Barbara Lisicki, Andy Kee, Simon McKeown, Simon Raven, Raquel Meseguer, Pryia Mistry, Melissa Mostyn, Pam Newall, Sarah Pickthall, Tanya Raabe-Webber, Simon Raven, Mandy Redvers-Rowe, Miles Thomas, Damian Toal, Joseph Young, Mark Ware and Aaron Williamson.

Our built environment and cultural sector network includes:

Professor Harry Charrington, Samir Pandya, Julia Dwyer and Julian Williams (University of Westminster School of Architecture and Built Environment), Chi Roberts and Luke Jones (CASS Foundation Programme, London Metropolitan University), Emily Crompton, Stefan White and Helen Ashton (Manchester School of Architecture), Professor Alan Penn, Professor Barbara Penner, Tanya Sengupta and Paolo Zaide (Bartlett School of Architecture UCL), Manijeh Verghese (Architectural Association), Daniel Jary and Leo Care (Sheffield School of Architecture), Professor Katie Lloyd Thomas (Newcastle School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape), Judit Puztaszeri (University of Brighton), Masashi Kajita (Danish Academy of Design, Copenhagen), Thomas Carpentier, Julie Fleck, Samantha Fletcher, Cerri Hedderwick Turner, Greg Morrell, Cassie Herschel- Shorland, Mark Lumley (Architype), Robert Sakula and Cany Ash (Ash Sakula Architects), Geoff Shearcroft (Architects of Change), Emily Rissom (Architecture plb), Ruth Taylor (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects), Matthew Lloyd and Patricia Woodward (Matthew Lloyd Architects), Avanti Architects, HLM Architects, Robert Barnes Architects, Shade Abdul (Shade Abdul Architecture), Danna Walker (Built by Us), Anne Thorne and Fran Bradshaw (Anne Thorne Architects), Steve McAdam and Natalia Alonzo (Fluid Architects).

The DisOrdinary Architecture Project is currently in the process of becoming a non-profit company limited by guarantee. Advisory Board members are also being finalized.

We would like to thank our sponsors and funders:

Privacy Policy

Our privacy policy is outlined in this link.